Connecticut State Colleges & Universities
IT Support Center

Protective Enclave FAQ

The following are answers to questions that you may have when using the Protective Enclave.

NOTE: Because the Protective Enclave uses MFA to authenticate, check the MFA FAQ if your question relates to authentication.

Questions:

Answers:

  •  Once logged in, can I stay logged in all day?
  • Yes, typically, you can log in at the beginning of your work day and minimize the Protective Enclave Virtual desktop window when you are not using it throughout your day. You will only use your NetID and password to unlock the Protective Enclave Virtual desktop if the screensaver kicks in - you won't need to reauthenticate each time using MFA. At the end of your work day, remember to sign out of the Protective Enclave Virtual desktop to before you log out of your local workstation.

  •  When using Core-CT, what activities must be done from inside the Protective Enclave?
  • Work completed by anyone maintaining employee records in Core-CT (e.g. Workforce Administration, benefits, Time and Labor, and Payroll) must be done within the Protected Enclave. Restricting access to Core-CT to the Protected Enclave for employee administration purposes, will mitigate the exposure of sensitive DCL3 data.

    Employees maintaining their own personal information, entering time, or approving time can access Core-CT outside of the Enclave.

  •  Why am I seeing a timeout message appear after logging into the Protective Enclave?
  • Once logged into the Protective Enclave Virtual Desktop, you can simply close the browser window connected to the Citrix Receiver to avoid seeing the session timeout warning. If you don't close it, you'll notice it will warn you it will be timing out soon:

    and then it will timeout due to inactivity:

    You can either let it timeout (seen above) or you can choose to close the browser window once you are connected to the Protective Enclave:


    NOTE: If you log out of the Citrix session (using Log Off), you will disconnect from the Protective Enclave Desktop.

  •  I accidently clicked the X in the upper-right hand corner of the Protective Enclave Desktop window. Did I lose what I was working on?
  • If you accidently click the X in the upper-right hand corner of the Protective Enclave Desktop:

    It may show you the following popup:

     

    It is recommended that you do not enable the "Don't ask me again." If you accidentally clicked the X to close the window, the popup will alert you that you are about to disconnect from the Protective Enclave Virtual Desktop. If you do disconnect, in order to not lose any unsaved work, you must reconnect to the Protective Enclave Desktop within 10 minutes. Reconnecting after 10 minutes will result in losing any unsaved work.

    NOTE: Disconnecting by clicking the X as shown above is not the proper way to close your Protective Enclave Desktop. Instead, when you are done for the day, you will want to save any unfinished work and Sign Out.

  •  My Protective Enclave Desktop just disappeared for no reason even though I was actively working in it. Why?
  • There are two common situations where an active Protective Enclave Desktop would disappear:

    • During the scheduled, weekly maintenance window: Sunday 2AM - 4 AM. Note that any work that was being done may be lost.
    • When the same account that was used to connect to the Protective Enclave is used to open another Protective Enclave Desktop (for example it is launched from another workstation). There can only be one Protective Enclave Desktop open at a time per user, therefore if a second one is launched, the first one will disconnect without any error, popup or warning. Since it's the same user launching the Protective Enclave Desktop, whatever application was being worked on from the first Protective Enclave Desktop will be right where it was left off when the first Protective Enclave Desktop "disappeared".
  •  What happens when I am logged on to a machine and start a new session on another machine?
  • There can only be one Protective Enclave Desktop open at a time per user, therefore if a second one is launched on another workstation by the same user, the first one will disconnect without any error, popup or warning. Since it's the same user launching the Protective Enclave Desktop, whatever application was being worked on from the first Protective Enclave Desktop will be right where it was left off when the first Protective Enclave Desktop "disappeared".

  •  What is Request DLP bypass on the Data Loss Prevention pop-up?
  • When a file is flagged as containing DCL3, the McAfee Data Loss Prevention popup has a link to a 'Request DLP bypass'


    Currently, the link to 'Request DLP bypass' is not used by CSCU. If a file is flagged as containing DCL3 and is a false positive, work with your local IT department to allow the file to be allowed out of the Protective Enclave.

This FAQ was last updated: Thursday, March 1, 2018