The following procedures will provide you with the basics of
navigating through the Protective Enclave as well as signing out:
After logging into the Protective Enclave, you'll be presented with the Acceptable Use Policy. Click OK to proceed:
You will see a "black screen" while the profile is setup - this is expected:
After your profile is setup and policies are applied (note: total
login time is about a minute or two), you will then
be presented with your
virtual desktop that looks similar to what's shown below:
In the lower left hand corner of your virtual desktop, you will see the following
|Here you will find the applications you have access to (e.g., Microsoft Office applications, web browsers, etc.) as well as where you will go to sign out. To return to the desktop, click the Desktop application.|
|Used to access your Enclave document libraries.|
|IE is the recommended web browser and should be used to access Approved Sites
and Applications (e.g., Banner, Core-CT, SOCS).
NOTE: You may see a different web browser icon the first time you log into the Protective Enclave.
You may be accustomed to accessing your documents from your
workstation with the use of a network drive letter mapping. In
the Protective Enclave, you will find all of your documents under
Libraries. If you click the
File Explorer icon from your taskbar in the lower
left hand corner of your desktop, you will see your libraries
NOTE: The first time you log into the Protective Enclave or after a system update, you may see additional, default libraries listed that will not be displayed the next time you login. Any documents placed in those default libraries will be deleted.
Refer to the Working in the Enclave support page for details on each of these libraries.
The Protective Enclave offers applications that you will use to work
with documents while inside the Protective Enclave as
well as provide web browser access to sites used pertaining
to working with sensitive information (e.g., Banner, Core-CT, HR
related websites, etc.). There are two areas you will use to
access your applications:
Click Window to restore the Protective Enclave desktop to a window:
If you have dual monitors and want to have the Protective Enclave Desktop span both monitors, drag the window to the center of both screens:
Then "throw" the screen to the top. This will make the Protective Enclave Desktop span both screens:
The Protective Enclave is configured to automatically log off your session after 8 hours of idle time, but as a best practice, please sign out of your Protective Enclave Desktop session when you are done or before you leave for the day. This will free up any resources on the server that are being shared with other users. Perform the following steps to sign out of your Protective Enclave Desktop session:
If you have any questions or concerns, please visit the Service Portal: